National Honor for Saraland Elementary School

Original Story Here

The U.S. Department of Education announced that Saraland Elementary School is one of five schools in Alabama to earn recognition as a National Blue Ribbon School for 2017.

The school, part of the Saraland City School System, was selected for the honor which "affirms the hard work of students, educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging content," according to the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program.


Representatives from the school system are invited to Washington, D.C. to receive the honor from U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos.

The other schools in Alabama are Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School in Decatur, Memorial Park Elementary School in Jasper, Tuscaloosa Magnet Schools-Middle in Tuscaloosa and Vestavia Hills Elementary Liberty Park School in Vestavia Hills. There were no schools in our area from Florida on the list, and none at all from Mississippi.

All content © 2017, WALA; Mobile, AL. (A Meredith Corporation Station). All Rights Reserved.