National Junior Honor Society

  • The National Junior Honor Society is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding middle level students. NJHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, citizenship and character. Eligibility to receive an invitation for membership first begins with the core value of scholarship. Students entering 7th or 8th grade must attend Saraland Middle School for at least one full semester, and have earned a cumulative average of 90% or higher in their core courses. Once inducted, students are expected to maintain academic excellence while volunteering at least 10 hours of service in their community. 


    Due to the restrictions this year with COVID, Members of NJHS are required to complete 10 community service hours this year. Service hour forms can be found in the files section. Service hours can be earned various ways including: donating items or volunteering at local shelters (including pet shelters), volunteering at local churches or other organizations, participating in local food or toy drives, making essential needs bags for homeless, etc. If there is any question about a service hour opportunity, please ask! School-wide community service opportunities amongst our NJHS Chapter or other student organizations are also accepted and highly encouraged!  


     The charter for a National Junior Honor Society was approved for Saraland Middle School in the Fall of 2010. The first group of members was inducted in January 2011.