Hide other sections

Main Page Image


Career Technical Education Update


Saraland City School System offers the following Career Technical Education (CTE) Programs for all students regardless of race, color, national origin, sex, or disability in grades seven through twelve: Business Management and Administration; Health Science; Welding; Project Lead the Way (PLTW) Engineering; Food, Wellness, and Dietetics; Middle School Business Technology Applications; and Middle School Teen Discoveries/Teen Connections.


Microsoft Office Specialist, ServSafe, and Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) are three credentials offered to Saraland High School students.  These credentials prepare students for business/industry.  Specific program courses are offered to ensure students are prepared to attain the credentials.


The CTE director, teachers, and counselors strive to develop positive working relationships with business and industry within the Saraland community.  They meet with business and industry leaders two or more times per year to discuss avenues for improving instruction within the programs.  Survey data is collected from local businesses to identify employee qualifications needed for the workplace. 


In July, the Saraland Chapter of Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) was presented with distinguished honors at the National Leadership Conference in Atlanta, Georgia.  These awards are listed below.


Alexis Crane, chapter president, represented over 250,000 students as the National Southern Region Vice-President at the National Leadership Conference.  She is Alabama’s first national officer in 30 years.  She was presented a national scholarship, the Distinguished Business Leader Award, and was named Who’s Who in Alabama’s FBLA.  


Landon McNellege, Alabama’s District Three Vice-President, accepted a $1,000 national grant on behalf of the chapter to help promote and raise funds for the March of Dimes.  


Tanner Doherty, ranked third place at the Alabama State Conference in Publication Design and presented his campaign to the National Awards Committee. 


Vicky Crane, FBLA sponsor, serves as a member of the Alabama FBLA State Administration Board and is newly appointed to the National Awards Program of the National Office of FBLA.  


The Saraland High School Chapter was named the Most Outstanding Chapter and the Largest Chapter in the district.  Other awards included: Outstanding Level for Alabama Blueprint, Action Awareness, Super Sweeps, Non-Stop November, and Big 10.  


Also in July, nine middle school students and three high school students, representing the Family Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA), attended the National Leadership Conference in San Diego, California.  While attending the conference, these students competed in the Students Taking Action with Recognition (STAR) Events Competition and did exceptionally well.  The medal recipients are listed below.


Gold Medal Recipients:

Middle School

Alex Everett and Anna Sweet: Promote and Publicize FCCLA

Miller Arnett, Chloe Turner, and Faith Sanderson: Focus on Children

Trey Hardy: Food Innovations


Silver Medal Recipients:

Middle School

Kayla Dopke and Robyn Sanders: Sports Nutrition


Bronze Medal Recipients:

Middle School

Jena Lyons: Interpersonal Communications


High School

Abbie Anderson and Mary Patterson: Life Event Planning

Marley Tanner: Life Event Planning


At the Alabama FCCLA Conference in March, Saraland Middle School FCCLA received an award for the Alabama ‘7 for 70th Project’.  This award recognizes chapters that increase membership by at least 7 members to celebrate FCCLA's 70th year.


In addition, the chapter received the Alabama Children's First Award at the 2016 Alabama FCCLA State Conference.  This award is presented annually to a local chapter that completes a project to improve the well-being of a child or children in the community.  This award was based on the chapter's extensive work with special needs students at Saraland Middle School.  



OCR Nondiscrimination Statement

Saraland City School System does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its program and activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups.